Punjab CM

In the latest news, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Hamza Shehbaz has been reelected as the chief minister (CM) of Punjab after the votes of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) were rejected by the Punjab Assembly Deputy Speaker. According to details, Punjab Assembly Deputy Speaker Dost Mohammad Mazari – who chaired the session – supervised that the votes of PML-Q lawmakers will not be counted in the election of Punjab chief minister in the light of party head Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain’s letter.


Deputy Speaker Cancels 10 votes of PML-Q 


Moreover, Pervaiz Elahi, the joint candidate of PTI and PML-Q received 186 votes, while Hamza Shehbaz obtained 179 votes. However. 10 votes of PML-Q were canceled by Deputy Speaker Dost Muhammad Mazari, hence taking the figure to 176. Meanwhile, PTI Member of Provincial Assembly (MPA) Raja Basharat has opposed the ruling of PA Deputy Speaker Dost Mazari, saying that the law states that the parliamentary party could issue instructions to party members.


He further pointed out that the party chief was not authorized to give such instructions if the parliamentary party had decided to vote for a certain candidate. He also read the order of the Supreme Court. “The head of the parliamentary party is Parvez Elahi,” he contended. However, Mazari said that the matter had been clarified by the Supreme Court, subsequently proroguing the session.


PML-Q Chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain Refused to Vote for Pervaiz Elahi as the Next Punjab CM


Pervaiz Elahi among all Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) has voted to elect the new Punjab chief minister in the provincial assembly session. All 10 lawmakers of Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid have cast their votes for Pervaiz Elahi – the joint candidate of PML-Q and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). Minutes before the Chief Minister (CM) Punjab election, PML-Q chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain refused to vote for Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-backed candidate Pervaiz Elahi. 


Read more: Punjab by-elections: PTI Claims Punjab Back from PML-N


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here