WhatsApp is working on a new version of the Snapchat-like view once feature to prevent users from taking screenshots of view once messages.

WhatsApp is working on a new version of the Snapchat-like view once feature to prevent users from taking screenshots of view once messages. The users are also reportedly being blocked for screen recording the view once messages; the feature is available for some beta testers of the app that install the latest beta version of Whatsapp from the Play Store.

Screenshot of View Once Messages Kills the Purpose of the Feature

The view once message feature was released with the ability to take screenshots somehow kills the purpose of the feature, as the messaging app already has the same feature in the form of WhatsApp stories. Later, in August 2022, Mark Zuckerberg announced that screenshot blocking was soon coming to WhatsApp, which will have a built-in screenshot blocker feature to prevent taking screenshots of view once messages.

WABetaInfo, the WhatsApp update tracker website, also tweeted about the feature, saying, “WhatsApp is releasing screenshot and screen recording blocking for view once images and videos to some beta testers!” According to the publication, using third-party apps or extensions to bypass this security limitation won’t work for the users as they will end up with a black screenshot.

Important Points to Consider

If you are using the view once messages feature, then you should know that:

  • When someone takes a screenshot, it is never notified to the recipient, but the attempt to take a screenshot is immediately blocked for added privacy.
  • The attempt to record the screen when opening a view once an image or video is also blocked by default.
  • You can still take screenshots of conversations even if they contain some disappearing messages since the new feature is only limited to view once images and videos.
  • You cannot forward, export, save, or view images and videos, as always.
  • The recipient may still take a photo by using a secondary mobile device, so you should always be careful when sending view once messages

Also read: WhatsApp Tests View Once Feature to Access Photos and Videos for Windows Users

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here