In the inaugural warm-up match of the ICC World Cup 2023, Pakistan faced New Zealand in a thrilling encounter that saw New Zealand emerge victorious with a five-wicket win in Hyderabad, India. The Pak Vs NZ contest sets the stage for the cricketing powerhouses as an exciting ICC World Cup awaits, where every match promises to be a battle of skills, strategy, and determination.

Pakistan Sets a Formidable Target

Opting to bat first after winning the toss, Pakistan set a formidable target of 346 runs for the Kiwis. The highlight of Pakistan’s innings was an impressive century by Mohammad Rizwan, who showcased his prowess with a remarkable knock of 103 runs off 93 balls, including 11 boundaries. Captain Babar Azam also contributed significantly with 80 runs off 84 balls, featuring 10 boundaries. Saud Shakeel, a left-handed middle-order batsman, further bolstered Pakistan’s total by adding 75 runs with nine boundaries at an impressive strike rate of 141.51.

The warm-up matches in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 retain the traditional 50-over format. However, these matches do not have official ODI status, offering teams the flexibility to experiment with their playing XIs and include all 15 members of their squad. With the ICC World Cup 2023 underway, cricket fans around the world eagerly anticipate more thrilling matches and outstanding performances from these teams.

Pak Vs NZ: Fans React to the Defeat

With high expectations for a strong performance, fans were hopeful that Pakistan would set the tone for the upcoming World Cup. However, the unexpected defeat left them perplexed, questioning the team’s strategy and execution in the match:

Squads for the Warm-Up Match:

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, M Wasim Jnr, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha.

Also read: Pakistan Cricket Team Makes Long-Awaited Return to India for Cricket World Cup 2023


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here