The anticipation surrounding the next general election date in Pakistan has come to an end as the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has officially announced the date for the upcoming electoral event

The second phase of the local body elections in Sindh, scheduled for 24th July, has been postponed. According to the spokesperson of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the second phase of local body elections in Sindh has been postponed and the polls will now be held on 28th August.

Local Body Elections Delayed Due to Monsoon Rains

A press release issued by the ECP confirmed that CEC Raja chaired a meeting that reviewed the requests submitted for the postponement of local body elections and also the reports submitted by the Met Office and provincial election commissioner. The Met Office has informed ECP about the upcoming rain forecast while the provincial election commissioner had requested the ECP to postpone the polls due to the difficulties being faced in conducting the polls because of damage done by the last rains. Meanwhile, the third spell of monsoon is likely to hit Sindh from July 23 to 26, with heavy rains likely in Karachi from July 24 to 26.

Keeping in view all the above-mentioned facts, the electoral body decided to postpone the elections for the convenience of voters and candidates. Moreover, due to Muharram and weather conditions, the new date of election of NA-245 Karachi has also been set as August 21. It is pertinent to mention here that the NA-245 seat fell vacant due to the death of Aamir Liaquat.

Read more: Punjab by-elections: PTI Claims Punjab Back from PML-N

LG Polls: Karachi and Hyderabad Districts

The second phase of the local body elections was to take place in the 16 districts of the Karachi and Hyderabad divisions. The seven districts in the Karachi division include East, West, South, Central, Malir, Korangi, and Keamari. While, the nine districts in the Hyderabad division, include districts Hyderabad, Tando Mohammad Khan, Matiari, Tando Allahyar, Badin, Dadu, Jamshoro, Thatta, and Sujawal.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here